Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a work network running off an OSX server. I've set the permissions so that any user in our group can access a certain folder. It's become apparent though, that whenever a user accesses a folder, that the folder becomes locked for all other users afterwords, and I have to reset the permissions again. No clue why this is happening.

Any suggestions?

share|improve this question
    
What do you mean by "accesses a folder"? Do the permissions change just by virtue of looking at it in the Finder? Do you get problems when users create folders? –  Steve Folly Jan 13 '10 at 20:57
    
I believe it's when a user makes changes or adds folders to the directory. I don't think it's by viewing the directory though. But I haven't tested that yet. –  kylex Jan 13 '10 at 21:05
    
Probably to do with permission inheritance then. See my answer. –  Steve Folly Jan 13 '10 at 22:18
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 2 down vote accepted

Are you using Server Admin to set ACL permissions on a shared folder? Do you have permission inheritance enabled?

If you're going to change ACLs on an existing directory you should also propagate permissions to ensure everything below the directory has the correct permissions.

EDIT: what you probably want to do is add an ACL group permission for to the folder using Server Admin. Choose a custom permission. Edit the permission and check everything except Change Permissions, Change Owner, and Delete. The 4 Inheritance permissions are the important ones.

This is how I have a couple of shared folders set up on my server.

share|improve this answer
    
+1 for ACL's. Standard OS X POSIX permissions are default 755, which doesn't help in a group situation. –  churnd Jan 14 '10 at 12:19
    
Switching fro POSIX to ACL worked. Thanks! –  kylex Mar 1 '10 at 16:53
add comment

unfortunately, Adobe CS will ignore ACL and SL Server doesn't allow you to set the default POSIX permissions (although 10.4 server and earlier did). So this is both Apple's fault (for taking away the option) and Adobe's fault (for ignoring ACLs).

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.