Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sorry about the title, dont' really know what it should be.

If I open a doc in read only mode I'm able to press save and then it opens up a save as box and the default directory is the directory on the sharepoint server and if you press save you save it to the server.

This actually makes the whole process not really "read only" mode since I could actually update the document.

Is there a way to prevent this from happening so that if someone chooses read only there is no way possible to updload any changes back to the sharepoint site?

Also, it has been suggested as a solution to get rid of the edit/read only option so that people have to check out the document. Is there a way to remove the edit/read only option on documents?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

To prevent editing of the document, you'll need to either manage the permissions of the document, or the entire library, so that only a select group have the Contribute or Full Control permissions. You will need to break permission inheritance to specify custom permissions on the library.

To force check out of the document for editors, go to the library settings and choose Versioning Settings, then tick "Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited?". Users will then be prompted to open the document as "Read Only" or to "Check Out and Edit".

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.