our emails are being flagged as junk. I have two different webistes both with their own dedicted ip address.

sitea.com = xx.xx.xx.43 siteb.com = xx.xx.xx.44

Im using hmailserver to host our emails and have the smtp bound to the ip address of xx.xx.xx.42

im aware that i can set up a spf record to state that the what servers emails can be sent from

v=spf1 mx ip4:xx.xx.xx.43 mx:mail.sitea.com ip4:xx.xx.xx.42 -all

Would the fact that email are not sent from the sites ip's be causing them to be flagged as junk.

Cheers

Cam

link|improve this question
feedback

migrated from stackoverflow.com May 20 '10 at 19:03

This question came from our site for professional and enthusiast programmers.

4 Answers

Having SPF that doesn't match the mail server is a sure fire way to get flagged as spam. Having an SPF that does match in general buys you nothing.

Have you checked if your server is on any realtime blacklists?

link|improve this answer
feedback

Try www.mxtoolbox.com it has a simple blacklist checker which should be able to detect any blacklists that your on! What are you settings in hmail for outgoing email?

link|improve this answer
feedback

Short answer: Yes.

If your mail is being sent to junk folders, adjust your SPF and check again.

link|improve this answer
feedback

v=spf1 mx ip4:xx.xx.xx.43 mx:mail.sitea.com ip4:xx.xx.xx.42 -all

I don't think you want that record - generally using the mx: types doesn't get what you want. You've also said that the .42 address is the one you send from, so it should be first, and realistically the only record:

v=spf1 ip4:xx.xx.xx.42 -all
link|improve this answer
feedback

Your Answer

 
or
required, but never shown