Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am using SQL Server 2008 Enterprise. Under logs folder, in my machine it is C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Log, there are three kinds of files,

•log_207.trc, log_208.trc, ...

My question is what are the differnet function of such log files? And why there are files ends with .1, .2, etc?

thanks in advance, George

share|improve this question
Does anyone have any ideas? – George2 Jun 7 '10 at 6:08
up vote 2 down vote accepted

The ERRORLOG files are just what they sound like - logs of errors that happen within your SQL server. When you are in SQL Management Studio, if you look at the "SQL Server Logs" it is viewing the ERRORLOG. The files with numbers at the end are archived log files when it rotates.

The FDLAUNCHERRORLOG files are for errors that occur in the SQL Server Full Text Filter Daemon launcher service. This is a separate service used to load filters for full text search. Again, the files with numbers are archived files after log rotation.

The .TRC files are SQL Profiler traces. SQL 2008 does some default tracing to help troubleshoot issues.

share|improve this answer
Thanks, question answered! – George2 Jun 8 '10 at 15:12

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.