Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Anyone knows what it means exactly?

share|improve this question
2  
You might want to start accepting answers to some of your questions - the community is generally more helpful then. It's not the first time this has been suggested and you've had a lot of help from the community. It's the official way of saying thankyou. –  Mark Henderson Jul 5 '10 at 4:04

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

You will lose everything that is contained within that partition. Logical partitions are always located within an extended partition, so you will only lose the data that is on that partition, not the other partitions.

share|improve this answer
    
Will the deleted partition still be accessible ? –  wamp Jul 5 '10 at 4:10
    
No. You can probably do recovery on the disk using recovery software if you discover you've done the wrong thing and you should get most of it back, but no, deleted is deleted. –  Mark Henderson Jul 5 '10 at 4:11
    
If it's not accessible after deleting, what can be the purpose of doing this? I don't see a reason to do it then. –  wamp Jul 5 '10 at 4:12
    
@wamp - you do it when you want to delete it, there's no hidden meaning. Perhaps you want to extend the previous partition? –  MDMarra Jul 5 '10 at 4:26
    
You mean the additional space can be used to extend the other partition? How ? –  wamp Jul 5 '10 at 4:50

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.