Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I just tried to access a folder like so:

\\somecomputeronmynetwork\somelocation$

When going to this location I'm prompted for a user name and password.

I put one in, and it let me in fine.

Now I need to remove that login, so I can try a different user name and password.

What's the easiest way to do this?

share|improve this question
add comment

5 Answers

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Open a command prompt or from start/run type:

net use \\somecomputeronmynetwork\somelocation$ /delete

share|improve this answer
1  
To add a little, you can type just net use to see a list of connections, then pick a connection and add the /delete argument like Nate suggested. –  Safado Sep 8 '11 at 14:10
add comment

Open your start menu, in the search bar type:

manage passwords

You will see an application called Manage Windows Credentials.
Open up this application from there you can check/edit/delete your saved network credentials.
Hope this help.

share|improve this answer
    
@JamesK The user/password and share is not listed there. Any other ideas? –  Joseph Dec 17 '10 at 17:28
    
possibly try to restart your computer, they may have cached for your session. failing that i'm not sure sorry! –  JamesK Dec 17 '10 at 17:34
    
@Joseph - is it under Manage Network Passwords? –  GregD Dec 17 '10 at 17:35
    
It will automatically delete after restart. –  Ankur Dholakiya Dec 20 '10 at 3:14
    
@GregD it's not listed there either –  Joseph Dec 20 '10 at 15:19
show 1 more comment

Windows tries to prevent logging on to the same server with different credentials at the same time, for some obscure "security reason".

This interception happens on the client side, not the server side.

You can circumvent this by using the server´s IP Address instead of the Servername. Personally, I do this in the command line:

net use * \\myservername\mysharename /user:mydomain\theotheruser * /persistent:no
==> error - security reasons

net use * \\x.y.z.z'\mysharename /user:mydomain\theotheruser * /persistent:no
==> just fine

This way, you can even connect twice to the same share, with different credentials. Incredibly useful when you try to debug user permission problems from the user's computer. Even works to connect to, say c$, on your own computer with admin rights.

You remove a share my either right-clicking it, or net use x: /delete

But: This does not remove your client's presumed connection to the server. Just browsing to the server in the explorer, without even connecting a share does count, and prevents you from using another credential to log onto that server, unless you disguise the name.

According to Microsoft, this is a feature.

share|improve this answer
    
Mapping this way with the password exposes a security vulnerability. Go to Windows Explorer and type a few characters of your shared path, and see if your password appears in plain text. It does on my computer (Win 7 SP1 updated with latest hotfixes as of today. –  Lee Grissom Mar 14 '13 at 23:44
    
Could not reproduce this behavior. I can only speculate you did enter the password in cleartext in the command line order, not when asked. That´s why the second "*" is in the command line - so we get asked, which hides the pw. –  Posipiet Apr 24 '13 at 9:14
    
I don't recall exactly, but I'm fairly confident I would never type my password in plaintext. However I'm now using Windows 8 Pro, and I can no longer reproduce. –  Lee Grissom Apr 25 '13 at 0:42
add comment

Try this it may work on Windows 7 [it works on XP]. Just type this in the Start->Run-> control keymgr.dll
It'll open up a window where in the stored password & usernames will be stored, you'll be able to delete from there.

share|improve this answer
add comment

All saved passwords for Windows 7 are saved in Credential Manager.

Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Credential Manager

If you authenticate with a username and password to a network location, that username and password will remain cached for your logon session. You will need to log off and back on before you can re-authenticate.

share|improve this answer
    
See net use answers above. And credentials you use through Windows Explorer to access network shares aren't stored in the Credential Manager. –  Safado Sep 8 '11 at 14:05
    
I'd be interested in how you explain the following screenshot then. link –  Lewis Sep 8 '11 at 15:01
    
I guess I stand corrected (perhaps). Did you manually add those credentials? I manage 80 users here at my company, all on Windows 7, and everyone connects to multiple shares and as far as I know, not a single person has an entry for it in the Credentials Manager. At any rate, your answer is still misleading. You do not need to log off and log back on to force reauthentication. –  Safado Sep 8 '11 at 17:21
    
If you check the Remember this checkbox when providing your credentials it will be stored there. However that box is not checked by default. Your answer is misleading though because you do not need to close your login session to re-authenticate. –  Nate Sep 9 '11 at 3:12
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.