Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

for a publicly accessible terminal server I have created a user profile which only allows running of a few programs (demonstration of applications).

This results in many people connecting to the same user name on the server, essentially sharing the same profile.

How can I copy the original, empty profile on every logon to a seperate directory and delete it afterwards, so everybody starts with a clean copy of the "Guest"-Account?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

Mandatory User Profiles may be what you need:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb776895(VS.85).aspx

As Administrator, rename the guest NTuser.dat file (the registry hive) on the server to NTuser.man

Changes can be made to the profile whilst logged in, but these are lost when the user logs out.

share|improve this answer
    
Why didn't I find this? Thank you a lot! This still leaves the second part open: How do I do the same with the profile FILES and FOLDERS? They have to be reverted too. Do I just flat-out run a logoff script that deletes everything? People shouldn't share this profile folder... Because maybe some applications save profile data which shouldn't interfere with other users. (This is a big maybe though. We could manage it without) –  sinni800 Dec 22 '10 at 11:47
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.