Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a tree of snapshots taken about once an hour as I progressed through a rather tricky server setup. Now that I'm done, I would like to get rid of the snapshots, but I gather that these are actually differencing drives. If that's the case, does it not mean that deleting a snapshot will in fact revert me back to a previous point in time. Or does it mean that deleting a snapshot merges the changed bits into the parent VHD.

share|improve this question
    
Quick question, is this going to be a production server? –  DanBig Jan 13 '11 at 19:06
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 3 down vote accepted

When you delete the snapshots you will (obviously) lose the .avhd files and it will merge to the .vhd and you will be left with your current environment all contained in the starting .vhd file.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Note that as the files merge it can take some time, during which your machine will be inaccessible. Depending on how many changes and how large your avhd's are it could take an hour or more so plan accordingly. They merge starts the first time you stop a system after deleting the snapshot.

P.S. You won't be able to see the merge progress in SCVMM is you use this tool You will have to go to Hyper-V Manager to see the progress.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.