Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am talking about Windows Server 2008 R2 and Windows 7.

Where can I find the list of default permissions granted to Network Service, Local Service, Local System and Application Pool service account?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Local System can, by definition, do anything on the system. Hey, it's the operating system itself, what else could you expect? :-)

Local Service is just like a standard local user account with no administrative privileges; so it can run programs, and it has the additional right to log on as a service (as running services is exactly what it's used for), but it can't access network resources in a domain environment.

Network Service is exactly as above, but it can also access network resources in a domain; when it does, it authenticates against remote computers using the machine's domain account.

More detailed info here:

This also has been discussed here:

share|improve this answer

Also you can always run security configuration and analysis wizard and load a default setup security template and see exactly what's configured for each service.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.