Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

These are my assumptions but I'd like you to correct me if I'm wrong...

If the system drive fails, I lose all my computer backups. This is not a problem because there's still the real computers, so I just need to change the system drive and reinstall WHS.

But, what happens with the data stored in shared folders that are duplicated across drives? Does this data become unreachable once the system drive is changed or is it automatically discovered by the new install of WHS?

In summary, I don't care too much about computer backups as the possibility that a computer fails at the same time that the WHS's system drive is pretty low. However I do care about the files stored in the shared folders as WHS is the only place they exist.

share|improve this question

closed as off topic by Bryan, MDMarra, Ward, Magellan, Dennis Kaarsemaker Jun 8 '13 at 15:42

Questions on Server Fault are expected to relate to professional server, networking, or related infrastructure administration within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

    
For what it's worth, the case where it does not find your other drives is sufficiently common to be something to worry about. It didn't work for me. –  Sebastian Good Jan 26 '10 at 4:06
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 8 down vote accepted

No, your data is still safe when the system drive fails. Just do a Server Reinstallation. More details can be found in this article

share|improve this answer
    
Ok, thanks for the link. The answer is that a WHS reinstall will recover my Shared Folders. Also, I could potentially connect each drive to another computer and access my data though a hidden folder called \Data. –  JAG May 2 '09 at 10:14
add comment

If your primary drive fails, once its replaces you can run the server recovery procedure from the DVD. This installs the OS, and then attempts to recover the data and is usually successful. It does not recover User accounts or system settings (plugins etc).

share|improve this answer
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.