Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Often when I send a support ticket to some web host, if they cannot handle it they will say something like "We will escalate this to level 3". What exactly is that?


locked by HopelessN00b Jan 22 '15 at 5:52

This question exists because it has historical significance, but it is not considered a good, on-topic question for this site, so please do not use it as evidence that you can ask similar questions here. This question and its answers are frozen and cannot be changed. More info: help center.

closed as off topic by mailq, Iain Jul 15 '12 at 15:48

Questions on Server Fault are expected to relate to server, networking, or related infrastructure administration within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

up vote 6 down vote accepted

There is no "official" definition of what levels 1, 2 and 3 are.

Generally speaking, though, as you progress up through the levels, people's expertise increases, as does their ability to identify the problem and provide resolution. The problem is that as people's skills and experience increase, so do their salary requirements. As such, as you progress up through the levels, the number of people staffing those levels will typically decrease. The hope is that the majority of problems will be able to be solved lower down in the support organization, leaving the few upper-level support techs to deal with the few technically-challenging issues that arise.


It's just the next level in the support organization. If the call center / help desk / person on the phone is Level 1, then the next level (Level 2) could be some junior technician, and so on until you reach the most experienced level.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.