Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The docs give a fixed list of facilties for syslog, but it's clearly possible to have more (http isn't on the list). Do I just describe it in the conf file and start using it or is is more involved? (It's an ecommerce system and I want to log the payment activities better.)

share|improve this question

The syslog protocol only allows the predefined facilities defined in RFC 3164. Most (if not all) syslog daemons will process messages with different facility identifiers as corrupt.

But you can easily use the facilities local0 through local7 for your custom logging needs, which is what they are there for.

share|improve this answer
How does Apache do it? – Malvolio Oct 22 '11 at 15:01
It doesn't. Apache httpd either writes its own log files (not using the system's syslogd) or uses the configured facility (see documentation on ErrorLog: – joschi Oct 22 '11 at 15:44

AFAIK, you cannot. You probably want to take a look at the filter function of rsyslog or syslog-ng.

share|improve this answer

You can use a filter function in the aforementioned tools. You can also use a syslog manager such as LogZilla to filter search and graph results based on facility.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.