Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have one FTP account for customers and I want they upload files, but they should not see what already uploaded by other customers.

Is that possible?

If I will disaalow directory listing that will "break" frp connection.

share|improve this question
    
Possible duplicate of serverfault.com/questions/24372/… –  Tim Brigham Oct 28 '11 at 19:01

2 Answers 2

No, this is not how the FTP-Protocol works. If you don't want customers to see the files from one another, create multiple users.

share|improve this answer
    
yep, it is not how FTP protocal works, but it may be possible by using ftp server features (like chaging owner and chmod after uploading) –  John Oct 28 '11 at 15:22

I've done that with Filezilla server on Windows. Give the upload directory write but no read permission and they can upload but not download (including not retrieving a directory list). The only side effect is they get an error in the FTP client when they connect and after they upload. FTP clients try to pull listings after both events.

Edit:
If you can't have error messages, you'll probably have to grab the files and move them as soon as they're uploaded. Check out inotifywait from the inotify-tools package or this article about using it to move files.

share|improve this answer
    
I had the same results ,but we can not confuse customers with any error messages. –  John Oct 28 '11 at 11:33

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.