Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Today I wanted to delete one of our mailboxes, so first in the AD I deleted the user's mailbox. Then when I try to purge the mailbox in ESM something goes wrong because the Purge and Reconnect options are inactive / grayed out.

Any idea what I should do now?

(I need to add the user which was previously removed, but now there are two mailboxes included in ESM)

share|improve this question
    
Has the mailbox maintenance process run? What is the retention setting for deleted mailboxes? –  joeqwerty Jan 12 '12 at 11:51
    
Sorry but how can i check this? (The language of my Exchange is diferent than english, and i can't figure out what you ask..) –  holian Jan 12 '12 at 12:33
    
On ESM - Server properties --> Mailbox management process set to Never Run if you ask this.. –  holian Jan 12 '12 at 12:52
    
Deletion setting is: Keep deleted mailboxes for 30 day. But earlier this funciont (Purge) was not greyed out...i don't know what happend. We made offline defrag, if its matter.. –  holian Jan 12 '12 at 13:00
add comment

1 Answer

What you were seeing is described in this article from Microsoft. The gist is as follows:

  • Mailboxes are not marked as deleted in the Information Store database immediately when you delete them using management tools.

  • The next time the Mailbox Management or Store Maintenance process runs the mailbox will be marked as deleted. If it has been deleted for the duration of the "Keep Deleted Mailboxes" setting then it will be purged automatically.

  • After the mailbox has been marked as deleted it is able to be purged in the Exchange System Manager.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.