Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I recently checked the dns table in my go-daddy account and found the IP address under the A table next to the @ (naked domain).

Whenever I tried to connect to the naked domain, it sent me to Google servers as it should (i'm working with Google apps). However, anyone who wasn't me (i.e. connected from a different IP address I guess), arrived at a page full of commercial links and the writing "This page is parked free, courtesy of Google Apps" (clearly not a Google page).

Opening the address in the browser returned a blank page (or so it seemed?). A Google search on the IP address showed inconclusive evidence and mentions related to abuse.

Of course I deleted it and replaced it with Google's IP.

Was wondering - does this mean someone hacked into my go-daddy account?

share|improve this question
maybe SOPA was there. who knows... –  pduersteler Jan 27 '12 at 13:11

2 Answers 2

The IP is registered to Go-Daddy so it would seem to be legitimate. Perhaps a call to Go Daddy support would clear this up quickly

share|improve this answer
Yeah I sent them an email. Will update as soon as I find something new. –  Uri Jan 28 '12 at 14:34

Right, so, a whois on that IP returns all GoDaddy related information. Sounds more like something was going wonky with how you set up Google Apps, not necessarily that you were hacked.

# The following results may also be obtained via:
# http://whois.arin.net/rest/nets;q=

NetRange: -
NetHandle:      NET-68-178-128-0-1
Parent:         NET-68-0-0-0-0
NetType:        Direct Allocation
RegDate:        2005-04-12
Updated:        2007-06-14
Ref:            http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-68-178-128-0-1

OrgName:        GoDaddy.com, Inc.
OrgId:          GODAD
Address:        14455 N Hayden Road
Address:        Suite 226
City:           Scottsdale
StateProv:      AZ
PostalCode:     85260
Country:        US
RegDate:        2007-06-01
Updated:        2009-09-16
Comment:        Please send abuse complaints to abuse@godaddy.com
Ref:            http://whois.arin.net/rest/org/GODAD

OrgTechHandle: NOC124-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Network Operations Center
OrgTechPhone:  +1-480-505-8809 
OrgTechEmail:  noc@godaddy.com
OrgTechRef:    http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NOC124-ARIN

OrgNOCHandle: NOC124-ARIN
OrgNOCName:   Network Operations Center
OrgNOCPhone:  +1-480-505-8809 
OrgNOCEmail:  noc@godaddy.com
OrgNOCRef:    http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NOC124-ARIN

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE51-ARIN
OrgAbuseName:   Abuse Department
OrgAbusePhone:  +1-480-624-2505 
OrgAbuseEmail:  abuse@godaddy.com
OrgAbuseRef:    http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ABUSE51-ARIN

# ARIN WHOIS data and services are subject to the Terms of Use
# available at: https://www.arin.net/whois_tou.html
share|improve this answer
It sounds logical, but then why would GoDaddy have this commercial links page maintained, and why was I the only one not arriving at this page? –  Uri Jan 28 '12 at 14:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.