Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What do the levels in chkconfig mean?


chkconfig --levels 235 httpd on
share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 11 down vote accepted

This is what they mean:

0   Halt
1   Single-User mode
2   Multi-user mode console logins only (without networking)
3   Multi-User mode, console logins only
4   Not used/User-definable
5   Multi-User mode, with display manager as well as console logins (X11)
6   Reboot

So, when specifying a runlevel in chkconfig, you tell the service if it should be on or off in a certain runlevel.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.