Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I tried to read the series number?

There are 5600, 5500,E3,E7, 7500, 3400, Opteron 6000, Opteron 4000 etc

So which one is better?

And within each series, is that the higher the number the better? for example, E5506 is better than E5504 and E7520 must be better than E550x?

share|improve this question

closed as not constructive by splattne Feb 8 '12 at 8:23

As it currently stands, this question is not a good fit for our Q&A format. We expect answers to be supported by facts, references, or expertise, but this question will likely solicit debate, arguments, polling, or extended discussion. If you feel that this question can be improved and possibly reopened, visit the help center for guidance.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

Basic research - Xeon != Opteron. – Iain Feb 8 '12 at 8:23
It is funny how people today deciding on server hardware can not even come up with a basic corect question, isn't it ;) – TomTom Feb 8 '12 at 8:25
maybe. Things like model numbers and product families can be pretty confusing though. Particularly on cpus and graphics cards. – Sirex Feb 8 '12 at 9:05

It's, unfortunately, not as simple as just "better". Some CPUs, for example, may have more powerful cores but fewer of them. So single-threaded tasks perform better on them but tasks that can take advantage of multiple cores don't. You can get a basic idea of the raw horsepower of a CPU by taking a look at its PassMark CPU rating.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.