Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Unison sorts changes in order to first add new files and then to delete removed files.

When I use it to synchronize 2 USB drives, I can have problems with that if there's no room enough in the drives to store new staff without deleting first removed stuff.

So how can I tell unison to perform first deletion and to do anything remains?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

Apologies for disagreeing, but I don't think Unison behaves like you are describing. According to the Unison manual on this page, Unison uses rsync with the --inplace option as the default copy utility so that updated data is written directly to its destination. You could try specifying these defaults in your profile to see if that helps.

copyprog      = rsync --inplace --compress
copyprogrest  = rsync --partial --inplace --compress
copythreshold = 0
sortbysize    = true
share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.