Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

On the lvconvert(8) man page it says:

--type SegmentType
       Used to convert a logical volume to another segment type  or  to
       explicitly  state  the  desired  RAID1 segment type ("mirror" or
       "raid1") when converting a linear logical  volume  to  a  mirror
       with the '-m' argument.

But what exactly is the difference between "mirror" and "raid1"?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

I have not yet tried the new LVM segment types, but the overview is that they are support for the Linux MD RAID personalities in LVM. That is, they are RAID levels 1, 5, 6 etc. using the MD code with the eventual goal of removing the duplicate functionality of LVM's mirroring and having both MD and LVM use the same code.

This is very new stuff so may not be appropriate for a production setup yet.

For example it is still considered a technology preview in RHEL 6.2:


share|improve this answer
So this is similar to creating a RAID with mdadm that uses multiple LVs as disks just with tighter integration into LVM? –  Julian Apr 14 '12 at 16:01
The point with RAID is to use multiple physical disks for gaining fault-tolerance and/or improved performance. mdadm on the top of LVM doesn't make much sense, but LVM on the top of mdadm was considered "best practice" when not having a hardware raid. Now that LVM supports RAID out of the box, it seems preferable (due to the flexibility offered) to rather use the RAID-support in LVM, but I suppose mdadm (or hardware RAID) is still needed for a bootable fault-tolerant setup. –  tobixen Oct 20 '12 at 11:33

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.