Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Given a network share accessible for "everyone" in the domain, containing several 1000 files and folders

When I change permissions for this share from read/write to only read (or vice versa) on windows 2003, the change takes effect instantly.

When I do the same on a share on Windows 2008, the dialog stays open for a long time before closing when I click on OK, and the server appears to be accessing a lot of files.

What is the reason for this delay? Does Windows 2008 also change ntfs permissions for all files inside the share? If so, why doesn't win2003 have to do that?

I do not mind the delay, after all I do not have to change this stuff very often, but I am curious. What are the differences between 2003 and 2008 in this regard?

share|improve this question
    
Is the hardware 100% the same? –  Lucas Kauffman Jun 19 '12 at 20:35
    
no, but the win2008 server has the newer and faster hardware, and the files have just been copied to the new server. The fact that the win2003 server returns instantly makes me believe that this is not merely due to a difference in speed –  HugoRune Jun 19 '12 at 20:43
1  
Are you sure you aren't changing NTFS permissions somewhere when you edit the permissions? I ran several tests on different 2008 servers with 10,000+ file/folders and don't see the same issue when changing just share permissions. –  Rex Jun 19 '12 at 20:58
    
I suspect you are right in your suspicion because I have a similar experience. See my question Why does Windows share permissions change file permissions? –  Andrew Rump Nov 8 '13 at 19:47
add comment

2 Answers

I haven't experienced this myself.

I'm inclined to suspect network issues, or one of the many bugs in the Windows file system redirector that have inevitably surfaced over time.

You may want to perform two comparison packet captures of a Windows 2003 and 2008 machine. That would probably reveal the differences. If using NetMon, you can filter the saved capture display on the letters SMB.

share|improve this answer
add comment

It appears that you're using the Simple Sharing wizard on Server 2008+ which also transparently changes NTFS permissions. This is why you should always used "Advanced" mode sharing, as it does not try and "help" you.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.