I have 2 servers with a share,
\\serverb\share. DFS is setup on
\\domain\share to point to both machines. A 3rd party replication solution compares
When I turn off serverb
\\domain\share is still available, as expected. However
\\serverb\share is also still available but shows the contents from servera. This messes up the replication.
Why is this happening and how can I be sure to connect to one specific server or another?
When you turn serverb off you can no longer ping it but you can still connect to the share (but see servera). At no point does the dns for serverb ever point at servera.