Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

After reading a while , Im trying to understand what kind of certificates will be found at :

  • Personal
  • Other People
  • Trusted Root Certicfiation Authorities

will personal will contains only private keys ? I'm a bit confused.

What about certificates which arent trusted and I manually trust them , where will they be ?

Also , Why do I only have the CurrentUser Tab in my computer ? where is the local computer tab ?

here is a picture from the internet. I only have the "current user" Node....

enter image description here


share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

The quickest part to answer is why you only see 'CurrentUser'. That's all that certmgr.msc gives you. Looking at the screenshot, you see 'Console2' in the title, not 'certmgr'. It's a custom mmc:

Run mmc.exe, under 'File' select 'Add/Remove Snap-ins' and choose 'Certificates' on the left, you are now ask to choose which types of Certificates. Select 'My user account', then 'add' 'Certificates' again and this time select 'Computer account'. Now you have both currentUser and LocalMachine in your mmc, just like at the screen shot.

'Personal' has all your certificates. I think they all have the private keys, but not all of them are exportable.

'Other people' has the public parts of other user's certificates, that you may use to sign something.

share|improve this answer
See here for an explanation of which content belongs into which store. – Ansgar Wiechers Oct 27 '12 at 13:18

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.