This feels like a stupid question, and one that should (although I can't find it) have been asked before.
I have a shared folder on a Windows Server 2003 R2 setup. We do NOT use AD, just local accounts. What if a user is deleted from the server, what happens to the files that (s)he owns in a shared folder? Will they be left with a link that points to a now non-existing user or will Windows automatically adjust for this and appoint someone else as owner?
I want to ask before I do something stupid.
And before you ask, yes I know I can disable accounts, but in this case I need to delete the account.