Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does deleting/removing a user automatically remove the user from all groups the user was a member in?

share|improve this question

migrated from stackoverflow.com Nov 29 '12 at 11:46

This question came from our site for professional and enthusiast programmers.

1 Answer 1

Yes it does.

Check out man pages for userdel command for more info, for example here.

Additionally, pay attention to this part:

USERGROUPS_ENAB (boolean)
If set to yes, userdel will remove the user's group if it contains no more members, and useradd will create by default a group with the name of the user.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.