Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a question about ROBOCOPY which I have not been able to iron out in my research.

When copying directories recursively with the /E flag and where the directory already exists at the target, does ROBOCOPY:

  1. delete the existing directory and re-create it? or
  2. ascertain that the directory already exists, and continue with its work using the existing directory.

I think the answer is 2, but would like to be sure, if possible.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Robocopy will reuse the directory found on the destination. If copying security information as well, it will then apply the correct ACL settings to the directory. The same for owner information.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for confirming that for me. Much appreciated! –  onefootswill Dec 3 '12 at 21:40

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.