Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I guess it IS but I didn't find any explicit statement that changing the name does not affect the data in the partition in the parted documentation and since I could loose a lot of data I want to know this for sure.

I am talking of course about the option name NUMBER NAME.

share|improve this question
    
BTW, the downvotes probably are because "I could lose a lot of data" triggers a big "unsafe practices, not expected of the user base of this site" alarm bell with some people... –  rackandboneman Jan 14 '13 at 8:18
    
See my comment under Michael Hamptons answer. Maybe these people should visit a psychiatrist then. I think its better be safe than sorry, so this why I am asking algough I am 90% sure it doesnt do any harm. –  problemofficer Jan 14 '13 at 8:24
1  
I read more about the gpt and the name seems to be a fixed length field in the header of the gpt table so I guess this field simply gets overwritten when you assign a new name. Consequently the data shouldnt be touched. –  problemofficer Jan 14 '13 at 8:25
1  
Downvoting a question based on assumptions about the behaviour of the asker that have nothing to do with the question itself is pretty stupid if you ask me. –  problemofficer Jan 14 '13 at 13:32
    
And I did not downvote it myself. –  rackandboneman Jan 14 '13 at 15:00
add comment

1 Answer

The documentation you linked to says:

2.4.6 name

— Command: name number name
Sets the name for the partition number (GPT, Mac, MIPS and PC98 only). The name can be placed in quotes.

Example:

      (parted) name 2 'Secret Documents'

Set the name of partition 2 to `Secret Documents'.

So of course it works with GPT partitions; it explicitly said so.

share|improve this answer
    
Yes, said documentation does not answer whether problems can be expected if you do so. –  rackandboneman Jan 14 '13 at 8:16
1  
What it doesn't say, and this is why I am asking, if it changes the partition itself. Most people have developed a habit of not changing a partition after it has been filled with data. –  problemofficer Jan 14 '13 at 8:22
    
If it were potentially destructive, it would say so, as other parts of the documentation do. (Barring bugs in parted...) –  Michael Hampton Jan 14 '13 at 8:26
    
"it would say so" ... that attitude goes together with no backup (which the original question implies!) like gasoline with matches. –  rackandboneman Jan 14 '13 at 12:43
    
@rackandboneman Where do you get that idea? If that were true, I'd have to read the source for every utility I ever wanted to use, before I could use it! –  Michael Hampton Jan 14 '13 at 15:23
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.