Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

so i'm trying to make a shared folder for other users, inside that folder i want a personal folder for every user.

I have given full control to everyone on the network, so i can do anything i want, i tried to remove the "Delete" permission but than i couldn't create a folder with a new, which would mean all my folders are called "New Folder".

Is there a way to fix this? Or will i have to trust that my users doesn't delete everything.

share|improve this question
    
Your question and description is not very clear. I dont seem to understand what the second paragraph means. Please rephrase. Also, why prevent delete when you allow rename, or even move, which is about as good as deleting once you have a sufficient amount of data. –  Posipiet Jan 15 '13 at 9:35
    
I dont want somoene to accidently delete the shared folder. I dont really need/want rename permissions, but if i can't rename a folder, i can't create a new folder and give it a name either. Let me try to rephrase: I have a shared folder called "server", inside that folder i have a private folder for every user in the domain group, and one folder that is shared between all of us. So i'd like everyone to be able to create folders, move their data into the folders, but not delete the folder. –  Mothcity Jan 15 '13 at 10:11
    
Should they be able to move and delete data in their folder? –  Posipiet Jan 15 '13 at 12:41
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.