I have a Windows 2003 domain controller that we needed to take down in order to move it. When it was brought back up DFS wasn't working, our previous shares were marked as disabled. It turns out that the sharing permissions had been reset to basic read. By changing them to read/write and restarting the DFS service the shares could be enabled again in DFS.
What is bugging us is how/why did the permissions reset? Nobody touched them, and they shouldn't have been reset just from bringing the server down, correct?