Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am running a Jenkins CI server which polls an SVN server and checks out the (Maven) project and builds it.

We have recently changed the build server and I set up Jenkins afresh with the few projects we have. Now this new instance has a major problem: Whenever a new file has been committed to the SVN repository, the Jenkins svn update process will corrupt those new files by having their content duplicated. So if one of our developers commits a new file A with this content:

<test>
</test>

then the file will end up in the Jenkins workspace like this:

<test>
</test>
<test>
</test>

Obviously this is very annoying. I can clear up the situation by wiping the workspace, but really, I don't want to do this every time the build fails. I have never had any troubles with SVN and/or Jenkins before.

What could be the reason for such behaviour?

share|improve this question
1  
This seems to be a bug with Jenkins: issues.jenkins-ci.org/browse/JENKINS-14551 –  Roman Feb 21 '13 at 8:47
    
That's it, I never noticed that these changes had been coming from a merge. Thanks - and you may want to post this as an answer ;) –  Stefan Seidel Feb 21 '13 at 9:24
    
Done. Wasn't too sure about it :) –  Roman Feb 21 '13 at 9:34

2 Answers 2

up vote 2 down vote accepted
+50

This seems to be a bug with Jenkins: https://issues.jenkins-ci.org/browse/JENKINS-14551

For the time being, you're best way to handle this is to implement a workaround by the means of automatically clearing out the workspace before building. This may however not the way to go if you have huge and frequent merges - but from my understanding, they're working on it.

share|improve this answer
    
Yes, I've just posted a way to reproduce the bug on the issue tracker, so I hope it'll be fixed some time. We don't merge often, so I'll clean out the workspace by hand when it happens. –  Stefan Seidel Feb 21 '13 at 9:36

I've never really trusted Jenkins to be able to handle the workspace changes/updates gracefully, so as a matter of rule, I've always selected the "Wipe out Workspace" option, and worked on optimising the SVN server, or the WAN link to the SVN server so that the frequent build/checkout cycles don't destroy the SVN server or the internet connection.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.