I'm the developer for my company and we've changed our hosting company, so our email server is changing as well. So I've sent out a message that all employees should please use POP3 settings on Outlook accounts so that their emails are saved on their machines. After that, I will send them the settings of the new server.
But how does it work in Outlook really? If they change their settings and now log in using the new server's settings, are they able to function as before, seeing the same old emails they were able to see from the old server? So for example if a user has 10 emails from server1, and then changes his settings to connect to server2 and signs in with these new settings, is he still able to see the old 10 emails from server1 sitting in his inbox as before?
Or does he have to sign in to his old account to access his old emails again?
The main concern here is about not losing any emails.