Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I can't seem to find an example of how each of the log levels in slapd work. I want slapd to log the users who are logging in, and the server that they are trying to log into, as well as any authentication errors. I've tried using this LDIF to modify the logging level to every level (except for the debugging levels):

dn: cn=config changetype: modify replace: olcLogLevel olcLogLevel:

Can someone point me to a more helpful resource than the OpenLDAP manual? Or give me explanation on what typs of information the logging levels produce?

Thanks for your help.

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

If you're getting info into syslog, then it sounds like you're probably gonna need loglevel 256. Which will log the initial connection to slapd, and assign it a connection number, for example "conn=7000", which you can use to reference all actions performed for that connection. The initial line will also include the IP from which the connection was made.

After that you'll have to parse looking for the UID specified, and the filters applied as far as groups and passwords are concerned.

As for troubleshooting the error codes, there are a number of lists for these codes, which will appear as "err=*" in the logs. Here is one -

share|improve this answer
Thanks, that's the logging level I was looking for. – WildVelociraptor Jun 24 '13 at 20:42

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.