Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We have a bunch of tasks created by some items in a list (normal approval workflow). By mistake some users has "completed the tasks" by deleting the actual item that a task is based on, without setting the task completed.

Now the involved users keep getting reminder emails to complete the tasks but when clicking the link an error shows up, because the item does not exist...

How do I clean up this mess?

share|improve this question
    
Unfortunately tasks are no longer present (I have searched the list). The recycle bin is empty, also the "admin" one. The Portal has been migrated to a new server (after these items were deleted) but the reminders keep showing up none the less –  noesgard Aug 19 '09 at 10:39

2 Answers 2

If you go into the recycle bin of the site the tasks should still be there. Click the check box next to the task and select return to original site.

share|improve this answer

Maybe I am missing something, but can't you just go into the Tasks list associated with the workflow and delete the offending Tasks?

To make this more automated, perhaps you can setup an Information Management Policy to automatically delete the Tasks after a certain number of days. I believe for a Task List you can setup the Expiration policy to occur a certain number of days/months/years after the Tasks scheduled Due Date.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.