Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

On the first DAE, the first 5 disks are considered "special" because they host the OS of the storage array.

One of those 5 disks is faulty : what is the procedure to change it?

By the way, what kind of RAID configuration is set up on those?

share|improve this question
RAID 5, by default. You should probably hit up EMC Powerlink to get the documentation... assuming you have a support agreement (they "paywall" their tech documentation, so you need a legit warranty or support agreement to access it). – HopelessN00b Feb 21 '14 at 8:58
@HopelessN00b Thanks. Also, if I still had support, I would not ask the question here. ;) – Totor Feb 21 '14 at 9:43

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.