I have a site that has anonymous access disabled and uses only IIS basic authentication. The site's home directory only has the
MACHINENAME\Users group with permissions. I have one user that I don't want to be able to log-in to this site, so I thought all I would need to do is take that user out of the
Users group, but doing so still allows him to authenticate. I know it is the
Users group that is allowing authentication because if I remove that group's permissions on the directory, he is not allowed to log in.
Is there something special about the
Users group that makes it so you are actually always a part of it?
Is the only solution to revoke the
Users group's permissions on the site's home directory and grant a new group access that contains only the allowed users?