Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Looking for a bit of advice diagnosing this... let's assume my personal email address is The domain is associated with - I use it as a forwarding service to my Google mail account Last weekend, several friends & colleagues told me that my email was bouncing. It appeared to be a transient thing as by the time I got to a PC, it appeared to be working fine.

However, I'm the author of and this system regularly sends out email summaries to users. It's ASP.NET v3/VB.NET based. Email is working fine with everyone else's email addresses except mine. They were just disappearing. Each time sends out an email address, it cc's it to another email account at the same time. These cc'd copies always got through.

In a flash of inspriation, I remembered that I could configure to keep a copy of the emails it forwards - so I turned that on and tried a test. This had to be a flash of inspiration as support haven't singularly failed to reply to any of my posts on the ticket I raised.

Voila - after a while, a non-delivery report arrived in the inbox on This is the key bit from the NDR shown below.

The web app is hosted at webhost4life and their SMTP server is There's a link to an AOL page (eh???) that suggests black listing.

[Edited as realised hadn't pasted the right bit]

I don't have enough knowledge of SMTP inner workings to fathom this out or understand those SMTP responses. I also haven't got much faith in or webhost4life to sort this out :-( That's why I've just registered a personal domain for me. Might be time for a change and get off all those spam lists!

Cheers, Rob.

Could not deliver message to the following recipient(s):

Failed Recipient:
Reason: Remote host said: 440 4.4.0  MSG=:  (DYN:T1)

    -- The header and top 20 lines of the message follows --

Received: from [] by with SMTP;
    Wed, 23 Sep 2009 06:47:17 -0700
Received: from dedi561 ( 
[]) by with SMTP;
    Wed, 23 Sep 2009 06:47:01 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: "HOPS Help" <>
Date: 23 Sep 2009 06:47:00 -0700
Subject: WhatPub beer scores
Content-Type: text/html; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

I think it's saying the IP at is being blocked.

Not sure what the problem is, but one thing to note is that if your email server doesn't adequately authenticate senders (SMTP use), then the server will be marked as an open relay and blocked (as it should be).

share|improve this answer
webhost4life's smtp servers do require authenticaton so they are okay on that score. – Rob Nicholson Sep 25 '09 at 10:55

WebHost4ForLife is an inferior hosting provider, that's the problem. I'm getting errors sending mail to AOL today too. Probably a whitelist/blacklist thing, but not the first problem I've had with email in the last few weeks that was their fault.

I'm changing from these clowns to someone more reliable ASAP. I submitted a support ticket, let's see if they can fix it within 48 hours not like last time I suffered due to their inability to keep things up and running...

And this answer doesn't have the nasty "B" word in it, let's see if that's why my post was voted out or if perhaps there's people here who are personally offended by my dislike of webhost4life. =)

share|improve this answer
I would love to do the same for this web app but we're cost constrained with I'm well aware of the bad press that WebHost4Life gets but to be honest, it's okay for us. Yes, their servers are overloaded and the worker process crashes/recycles frequently but we need lots of SQL space and nobody else compares on price. I've found support very helpful and respondeded quickly. But it's useful to find that it's a black list issue. – Rob Nicholson Sep 25 '09 at 10:25
UPDATE: I did another test this morning and that got through fine so, fingers crossed - it's fixed. – Rob Nicholson Sep 25 '09 at 10:26
Hi Rob, I understand where you're coming from. I too am constrained by costs, but am perhaps not as technically constrained as you are. As my WH4L annual service comes to a close in a few months, I'll be checking out, my third try at affordable web hosting in the last couple of years. FYI, I did receive a reply from WH4L's support people: ### Hi, I have changed some setting of your mail server, would you mind to try it again? Thanks ### Seems to be OK now. I just with they'd stop mucking with mail servers. A few weeks ago I couldn't send email from ASP.NET code. =( – webhost4lifeSUCKS Sep 25 '09 at 16:43
In WH4L's defence - the service has been very reliable and my only gripe is their web servers are overloaded and my webapp gets shut down too often making it feel even slower. No other host offers so much SQL space for the same price. However, CAMRA may finally get it's own hosting which will be so much better. – Rob Nicholson Oct 27 '09 at 18:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.