up vote 2 down vote favorite
share [g+] share [fb]

We receieved an email direct from google this morning, stating that our site is carrying malware. We are a respectful marketing company with no dodgy code or links to malware on our site.

We now have a warning next to our site in the SERP's!

Has this happened to anyone before, could it be a competitor trying to sabotage us?

Here is google diagnosis....

http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http%3A//www.firstimpression.co.uk/&hl=en

What can be done about this?, please help :(

link|improve this question
1  
lol on "respectful marketing" JUST KIDDING – echobeach2 Nov 3 '09 at 17:24
feedback

migrated from stackoverflow.com Nov 3 '09 at 16:20

This question came from our site for professional and enthusiast programmers.

5 Answers

Did you even read the page linked in the results?

  1. Google "firstimpression".
  2. Notice that "This site may harm your computer" is a link.
  3. Follow link.
  4. Read the box that says "If you're the administrator of a site we've identified with this warning message, please visit the instructions found in our Webmaster Help Center to resolve the problem."
  5. Follow instructions.
  6. ???
  7. Profit!
link|improve this answer
1  
+1 mostly for steps 6 and 7, even though the rest of the information is useful too. – womble Nov 3 '09 at 16:27
feedback

I would check your site for any iframes. I've had a client's site get hacked on their own hosting service and the hacker embeded an iframe. Even accessing their site in Safari warned me. Simply deleting the iframe or re-uploading their site fixed the issue.

link|improve this answer
I had the same thing due to a comment left on my site – Jim Deville Nov 3 '09 at 16:41
And how long did these sites stay not hacked again. – dlamblin Nov 3 '09 at 18:18
feedback

Certainly you have managed to get on google's blacklist. I don't see anything dodgy - though I have only been to the front page. I also used this tool: Wepawet and it found nothing on your index page.

I suggest you have somebody competent look through your site - then go through the hoops to unblock yourself when done.

The chance it was a malicious competitor approaches 0 - it would be a hard thing to do, and in all honesty I don't think your competitors would have the resources to attempt such a thing. The main chance is that it was/is some kind of automated web worm liiking to use your site for distrbuting a malicious payload. I can name two companies off hand that I have seen this happen to (I warned them - and indeed nothing was done...).

link|improve this answer
feedback

Thank you all for your replies, I found a small JS on the index page which has been removed. I have followed the instructions on stopbadaware.org and requested a review so hopefully the site will be removed from the list.

I will also be scanning my mac's/pcs for any trojans and changing all ftp password.

Once again thanks.

link|improve this answer
If can use something other than FTP, you'll be better off. – Jay R. Nov 3 '09 at 18:03
3  
You might want to make sure you don't show up as "bad" on McAfee's SiteAdvisor as well: siteadvisor.com/sites/firstimpression.co.uk – Gerald Combs Nov 3 '09 at 18:43
feedback

this is worth a read

link|improve this answer
feedback

Your Answer

 
or
required, but never shown