Server Fault is a question and answer site for system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I plan on getting a wildcard certificate for my domain like *, but I've heard varying reports about whether it will also work with second-level subdomains like * -- reports that it works in Firefox but not in other browsers.

If I want it to work with all browsers, will I need to purchase a wildcard certificate for *

Is there a place for more definitive information on how this works and with what browsers?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Matching in wildcard certificates is done on a level-by-level basis, so if you want a certificate that will work for as well as, you need a certificate that has alt names of both * and * If you wanted to also match you'd then need *.* (instead of * It all gets rather unpleasant, and you'd probably need to have a thorough chat with (and a phat checkbook for) your SSL certificate provider, as I can't imagine it's something they deal with daily.

share|improve this answer

You either need to get separate wildcard certificates for each level, or have your SSL provider put in multiple levels or specific hostnames as SANs in the wildcard certificate for * (if you can find a provider to do this).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.