Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the backup config panels, Windows Server Backup warns that with backup to a network share, the previous backups are overwritten. What I haven't figured out is whether a failed backup results in NO backup, or if the failed backup is just dropped, leaving the previous backup in-tact. In this scenario, the previous backup would be erased only after a successful subsequent backup.

Thanks!

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 0 down vote accepted

Yes. Failed Backup results in NO backup.

share|improve this answer
    
Ok. Well that is very lame -- Is that documented or from personal experience or what? –  uosɐſ Nov 30 '09 at 17:58
    
Thanks for answering - but if you have any additional information, such as documentation/references, I'd appreciate it. –  uosɐſ Dec 3 '09 at 22:23
add comment

You could try creating a .vhd file in your share location, attach it in disk management, then tell Windows Server Backup to use that as if it were a locally attached drive.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.