Take the 2-minute tour ×
Server Fault is a question and answer site for professional system and network administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We only have a maximum of two users for our windows server 2003, so we use them between us. However if one of us logs on while another is using it, I would like a message to be displayed as a warning or alert, because presently there is no indication you have kicked someone off.

Is this possible?

share|improve this question
    
If you have a volume licencing agreement, Terminal Services licencing isn't that expensive. I have one server designated a "Admin" server which has the manament consoles for virtually all of the site services then all my Administrators use this one server for Administration tasks. –  Richard Slater Dec 14 '09 at 12:27
    
We don't have a volume licensing agreement, and its our only server. We're in a small company. –  SLC Dec 14 '09 at 12:52
    
Only the one server? If you have terminal services manager running it should tell you when someone else is logged in, or it'll tell you that your server has the maximum number of users logged in already and not allow you to log in. At least that's on our system, unless the configuration we have isn't the default. –  Bart Silverstrim Dec 14 '09 at 13:38

4 Answers 4

up vote 1 down vote accepted

You could try to msg.exe to the user@server before you log on?

What you need, as far as I can see, is

  1. a system manage the resource (limited logons)

  2. a system to communicate (i.e. chat/messaging or similar)

share|improve this answer
    
Probably my best bet, thanks. –  SLC Dec 15 '09 at 9:07

If you know any scripting, you could do a logon script that looks for the other session and does a popup if someone else is logged in.

share|improve this answer

You can also log on with:

mstsc -v:servername.com -console

to log onto the console for a total of 3 sessions.

By default, the system should give an error that the maximium number of connections have been reached and you cannot connect. Not just kick off another user.

share|improve this answer
    
I'm assuming they're all using the same username to connect, hence there's no warning regarding kicking another user off as that's not what's happening. It's the same username connecting from another workstation. Windows has no way to know that a different human being is using the same username. –  joeqwerty Dec 14 '09 at 14:53

There is always a warning, unless you share accounts. The solution then, is never to share accounts ^^

share|improve this answer
    
Not fantastically helpful, unless you want to shed out a few thousand for a license ;o –  SLC Dec 15 '09 at 9:06
    
License for what? You have unlicensed domain users? Domain admin accounts shouldn't consume any CALs afaik? –  Oskar Duveborn Dec 16 '09 at 16:41

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.