New answers tagged file-sharing
It appears this is a known bug between the Ubuntu smbd version 4.3.8 and Mac OS X version 10.11. https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/samba/+bug/1572301 There's no easy resolution yet but should be fixed in due course.
I think this might just be a limitation of the way it works. To me it seems to just scan the snapshots for different versions of the current file, so won't show any versions if the file has been renamed. However I'm not sure what you mean by history being lost if you move a file to another directory. On my FreeBSD/Samba system I can view previous versions ...
You could throw the following line into a Powershell script and run it just before your downtime window begins. This will kill all fileshare sessions. # The /y ignores the Y/N prompt that normally comes up when removing the sessions. # This command will remove ALL sessions. net session /delete /y
You can use the command net file in a powershell script to close open files https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/290585 The syntax of this command is: NET FILE [id [/CLOSE]]
Even if it's not Accessed Based Enumeration, the files could be invisible to users that don't have permission to access them. The word "moved" in your first sentence jumped out at me. I'm assuming that the application which creates the files is running either as domain administrator, or a service account. Whatever files are created by that process will ...
Its probably not the correct solution, but I have found that editing the template files directly (i.e. not moving them to a custom folder first) works flawlessly
As I am familiar with samba and the way it works, I don't think there's such an option.
Top 50 recent answers are included