103 reputation
3
bio website
location Australia
age
visits member for 3 years, 10 months
seen Apr 6 at 14:15

May
23
awarded  Popular Question
Apr
20
comment How can I remove a directory that I own when it contains subdirectories owned by another user?
Interesting... and I was surprised that it isn't all-or-nothing: I would have expected that either you can always delete the folder or you never can delete it; that you might be able to was unexpected. But after reading about inodes I think it makes more sense why it behaves so unnaturally.
Apr
20
comment How can I remove a directory that I own when it contains subdirectories owned by another user?
+1 for mentioning inode... reading up on inodes explained a lot to me. I'm used to NTFS where ACLs inherit nicely down the directory tree, the inode approach is very different.
Apr
20
accepted How can I remove a directory that I own when it contains subdirectories owned by another user?
Apr
19
asked How can I remove a directory that I own when it contains subdirectories owned by another user?
Mar
10
comment How can I keep track previous server's activities?
Please specify what type of server, and what type of activities you want to know about.
Feb
24
awarded  Scholar
Feb
24
awarded  Supporter
Feb
24
accepted Accidentally deleting all OSX users using dscl
Feb
24
comment Accidentally deleting all OSX users using dscl
+1 for a great idea — unfortunately it turns out that this can't be done. It's a Catch-22: once you've deleted all the user accounts it is no longer possible to create user accounts! OS X requires escalation to change user data, and because all administrator accounts were deleted I found I could no longer use sudo or authorise any administrator login popups.
Feb
24
answered Accidentally deleting all OSX users using dscl
Feb
21
comment Accidentally deleting all OSX users using dscl
I'll take that as 'reinstall OSX then restore from backup', because to the best of my knowledge Time Machine doesn't back up things like internal system accounts. Can anyone confirm that?
Feb
21
asked Accidentally deleting all OSX users using dscl