Out of curiosity, why is this
root@pve:~# lvmconfig --type default activation/activation_mode activation_mode="degraded"
degraded, by default?
Doesn't this configuration expose users to the risk of data loss?
Say user has a raid1, with 1 mirror and one disk goes faulty. The uses will not be aware of the failure unless he manually checks in the logs, because the raid will keep working.
Then after a while finally the second disk fails, and only now the user will notice the failures, but is too late because all mirrors are lost.
As opposed to if activation mode was set to complete by default, the user would be aware of the disk failure right away since the raid would stop working, and would have a chance to recover the data from the remaining mirror.
Am I missing something?