I've recently implemented DMARC where I work.

Most of the list-servers work just fine, either rewriting the from address or passing my posts unchanged, so they pass DKIM. One of them appears to be a problem, though.

When I look at the DMARC report, the morning after posting to that one List, the traffic shows up as "forwarded," rather than "compliant," "non-compliant," or "threat/unknown," and when I look at the details, I get this:DMARC report screen shot

I don't know whether my traffic is going out to the list or not (though I strongly suspect the latter).

After the first failed test, and after the List owner ignored my email asking for his help, I tried adding an "a:lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com" clause to our SPF TXT record; the above screen shot was from a post I sent the day after I added the clause.

Any suggestions on what to try next?

Re: the comment from "Paul," turning enforcement off and getting the headers from one of my own posts might be problematical, but here are the complete headers (edited for privacy) from somebody else's recent post, if that will help:

Delivered-To: jamesl@yyyyyyyyyyyyy.com
Received: by 2002:a2e:3503:0:0:0:0:0 with SMTP id z3csp1496776ljz;
        Fri, 25 Jun 2021 10:44:13 -0700 (PDT)
X-Google-Smtp-Source: ABdhPJy18k71C++zpNe55rLDEJltbevs69VyzzesCMGd/8tPX/qbI0Lac5wkA5469ycwf0wg5iAc
X-Received: by 2002:a9d:80a:: with SMTP id 10mr8226253oty.192.1624643053207;
        Fri, 25 Jun 2021 10:44:13 -0700 (PDT)
ARC-Seal: i=1; a=rsa-sha256; t=1624643053; cv=none;
        d=google.com; s=arc-20160816;
ARC-Message-Signature: i=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=arc-20160816;
ARC-Authentication-Results: i=1; mx.google.com;
       spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com designates aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd as permitted sender) smtp.mailfrom=ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com
Return-Path: <ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
Received: from mail2.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (mail2.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com. [aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd])
        by mx.google.com with ESMTPS id y13si7142121oih.66.2021.
        for <jamesl@yyyyyyyyyyyyy.com>
        (version=TLS1_3 cipher=TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384 bits=256/256);
        Fri, 25 Jun 2021 10:44:13 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com designates aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd as permitted sender) client-ip=aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com;
       spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com designates aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd as permitted sender) smtp.mailfrom=ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com
Received: from xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (xxxxxxxxxxxx.com [www.xxx.yyy.zzz])
    by mail2.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (8.15.2/8.15.2) with ESMTP id 15PHaLsP072664;
    Fri, 25 Jun 2021 13:36:22 -0400 (EDT)
    (envelope-from ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com)
Received: from xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (xxxxxxxxxxxx.com [www.xxx.yyy.zzz])
    by xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (8.14.4/8.14.7) with ESMTP id 15PHbRHQ032311;
    Fri, 25 Jun 2021 12:37:28 -0500 (CDT)
    (envelope-from ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com)
X-Mailman-Handler: $Id: mm-handler 5100 2002-04-05 19:41:09Z bwarsaw $
Received: from xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (xxxxxxxxxxxx.com [www.xxx.yyy.zzz])
    by xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (8.14.4/8.14.7) with ESMTP id 15PHbPBf032295
    for <ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>;
    Fri, 25 Jun 2021 12:37:25 -0500 (CDT)
    (envelope-from sk@xxxxxxxxxxxx.com)
Received: from grungy.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (grungymail@localhost)
    by xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (8.14.4/8.14.7/Submit) with ESMTP id 15PHbN4m032272
    for <ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>;
    Fri, 25 Jun 2021 12:37:23 -0500 (CDT)
    (envelope-from sk@xxxxxxxxxxxx.com)
X-Authentication-Warning: xxxxxxxxxxxx.com: grungymail owned process doing -bs
Received: from [] (localhost [])
    by grungy.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com (8.15.2/8.15.2) with ESMTP id 15PHbIUc008701
    for <ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>;
    Fri, 25 Jun 2021 12:37:18 -0500 (CDT)
    (envelope-from sk@xxxxxxxxxxxx.com)
To: ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com
References: <OF1F227294.95B6DA5A-ONC12586FE.002643EF-C12586FE.00272521@zzzzzzzzzzzzzz.it>
From: Sxxxx Kxxxxxx <sk@xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
Message-ID: <72ba4aa9-32f6-3c86-988b-b3c604d0b367@xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
Date: Fri, 25 Jun 2021 12:37:19 -0500
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:78.0) Gecko/20100101
MIME-Version: 1.0
In-Reply-To: <OF16B0EB8D.A01226D6-ONC12586FF.0058F2FC-C12586FF.005B0A15@zzzzzzzzzzzzzz.it>
Content-Language: en-US
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-1.0 required=8.0 tests=ALL_TRUSTED,HTML_MESSAGE
    autolearn=unavailable autolearn_force=no version=3.4.1
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.4.1 (2015-04-28) on
Subject: Re: [Ftpapi] Rif: Re: Rif: Re: In: Re: In: HTTPAPI - Example 7 -
 Upload a file from IFS - No file attached!
X-BeenThere: ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com
X-Mailman-Version: 2.1.14
Precedence: list
Reply-To: FTPAPI/HTTPAPI mailing list <ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
List-Id: FTPAPI/HTTPAPI mailing list <ftpapi.lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
List-Unsubscribe: <http://xxxxxxxxxxxx.com/mailman/options/ftpapi>,
List-Post: <mailto:ftpapi@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
List-Help: <mailto:ftpapi-request@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com?subject=help>
List-Subscribe: <http://xxxxxxxxxxxx.com/mailman/listinfo/ftpapi>,
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="===============1888169630713480664=="
Errors-To: ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com
Sender: ftpapi-bounces@lists.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com
  • 1
    I think it helps more if you can see headers from the list server. You might try setting p=none and then look at the headers.
    – Paul
    Jun 28 at 16:26

Looks like they have Mailman 2.1.14, and according to the Mailman wiki, 2.1.16 is the first version supporting DMARC mitigation.

You could use p=quarantine, so at least users can retrieve from spam folders or set local rules. Odds are everyone on that list is already aware of this issue.

If the list has an SPF record, you could use the redirect modifier in your SPF record (e.g., redirect=lists.example.com).

If they don't have an SPF record, you could try using the ip4 mechanism in your SPF record (e.g., ip4: with the IP addresses you think they use.

Keep in mind those last two would mean someone else's server can bypass your DMARC record protections, and these records are public, after all.

On DKIM, I'm not sure because there may be a DKIM alignment issue but you didn't include an email with a DKIM signature and the domains are obfuscated.

  • "redirect" is not a mechanism; it's a modifier. mailhardener.com/blog/spf-redirect-explained Jul 2 at 23:33
  • I did try an "a" mechanism clause, with the list server's domain; no joy. I have not tried a "ptr" or "ip4" mechanism clause. Jul 2 at 23:42
  • 1
    Maybe the a record did not point back to the IP address of the sending server. Also, there is still the looming issue of DKIM. If the mailing list doesn't strip it, then I would expect a DKIM alignment issue. Thanks, I forgot that one was different, but I have read the RFC at least once some time ago and recalled the different : and =, but I think the other issues discussed in that link aren't so significant in this case, though are otherwise informative.
    – Paul
    Jul 2 at 23:48
  • Well, there's plenty of time left on the bounty; if nobody else comes up with an immediate fix before it expires, and your answer and comments lead me to a solution, then the points are yours. Jul 2 at 23:51
  • Right now, I've done a DNS lookup on both the "lists." and "mail2." domain names, and written down the IP addresses. I'll see if they look the same in a few days. Jul 2 at 23:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.