2

How to disable the Reconnect at logon setting for a mapped network drive on Vista? How to disconnect already mapped drives?

2
  • Are you wanting to do this as a once off, or as a task via SMS or something on your network for all users? Commented Apr 30, 2009 at 19:28
  • I want just to turn it off for a specific mapping.
    – Toro
    Commented Apr 30, 2009 at 21:17

3 Answers 3

5

to disconnect, use:

net use Z: /d

Windows will not try to re-connect the drive when logging on again (unless the drive is actually being connected in a logon script or similar, of course).

2

NET USE /PERSISTENT:NO will turn off persistence for future network mappings. If you already have the mapping, you need to delete it and recreate it after to change the setting.

1
  • Works patially: persistence is OFF for future mappings, but I'm not able to kill my existing mapping...
    – Toro
    Commented May 2, 2009 at 14:24
0

You'll need to first disconnect from the server, then map it again to change it.

2
  • It doesn't work, when I log off and log on again I still have a mapped drive,
    – Toro
    Commented May 2, 2009 at 14:22
  • my experience so far is also that this procedure is not sufficient; i end up with the drive still mapping automatically.
    – hakamadare
    Commented Jul 15, 2010 at 15:08

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .