Possible Duplicate:
Why Does hotmail still reject my emails?

So I've been working a long time on fixing the Hotmail issue, but nothing seems to work:

  • Created my SPF records with the microsoft tool
  • Enabled reverse DNS (and checked)
  • Checked MX records
  • Checked for blacklists
  • Added DKIM
  • Did every test on MxToolbox

I have a VPS set up with my main domain as nameserver. All my clients domains have my NS-records and they can edit the DNS in DirectAdmin.

This is my last test:

Authentication-Results: hotmail.com; sender-id=pass (sender IP is xx.xx.xx.74) header.from=test@domain.nl; dkim=none header.d=domain.nl; x-hmca=pass
X-SID-PRA: test@domain.nl
X-DKIM-Result: None
X-Message-Status: n:0:n
X-SID-Result: Pass
X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTA7YT0xO0Q9MjtHRD0yO1NDTD0z
X-Message-Info: 2etWe3f/w1fPzVW+BbVPM9PFXf465RcPLor8OGrY1xCKjcZ3x50V531sP8e5m4GsNpw5CK5W6cKUlwY8DHbBWB+Lj7NXmhBNTxxMZ1FagXmP51VCk2ej+MGHbXDDN2lXWLgrobPK8+Ohie8Rd2eMTA==
Received: from server.domain.nl ([xx.xx.xx.74]) by COL0-MC1-F46.Col0.hotmail.com with     Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.4900);
 Wed, 1 Aug 2012 05:19:48 -0700

Received: from axx-xx-xx-230.adsl.xs4all.nl ([xx.xx.xx.230] helo=MyPcName)
by server.domain.nl with smtp (Exim 4.80)
(envelope-from <test@domain.nl>)
id 1SwXty-0002Sa-W0; Wed, 01 Aug 2012 06:19:47 -0600

Message-ID: <C2520F61140C46728CDC139B11814FAB@GijsPaulidesPC>
From: "Tester" <test@domain.nl>
To: "My Hotmail Name" <my@hotmail.com>,
"Spam checker" <check@isnotspam.com>,
"Spam checker 2" <check-auth@verifier.port25.com>
Date: Wed, 1 Aug 2012 14:19:39 +0200
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
Importance: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Windows Live Mail 15.4.3555.308
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V15.4.3555.308
Return-Path: test@domain.nl
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 01 Aug 2012 12:19:48.0704 (UTC) FILETIME=[F1B2F600:01CD6FDF]
Dit is een meerdelig bericht in de MIME-indeling.
Content-Type: text/plain;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Content-Type: text/html;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

<BODY dir=3Dltr>
<DIV dir=3Dltr>
<DIV style=3D"FONT-FAMILY: 'Calibri'; COLOR: #000000; FONT-SIZE: 12pt">

  • It's Hotmail. There's nothing you can do about them except to ask recipients to add you to their safe list. Aug 1, 2012 at 15:01
  • Are you sure? Because there are so many how-to's on fixing the spam mark.
    – Gijs P
    Aug 1, 2012 at 15:40
  • Same issue here.. all PASS and my mails goes to spam!
    – magnetik
    Nov 12, 2012 at 10:16

2 Answers 2


Not sure if this matters or not but your test message doesn't actually contain any text. It's possible its marking it as SPAM because it does not appear to be a valid e-mail message. Try actually adding a body to the message and see if that works.

  • I removed the text and I checked with multiple contents.
    – Gijs P
    Aug 1, 2012 at 16:00
  • Removed what text? I meant you should add a message to the body of the email. Make sure you have a subject and a body. Aug 1, 2012 at 17:21
  • Ugh, I don't know what I just wrote... I tried out multiple kinds of contents. Normal text like: "About out meeting", "Hello, it was blabla..".
    – Gijs P
    Aug 1, 2012 at 19:49

Are you sure you're not on any DNSBL? It could be the ISP / provider has others already on the list and you're guilty by association.

  • I check the IP of my server on multiple lists. Getting a green light from about 150 Blacklist servers. Maybe you have a list I didn't check with?
    – Gijs P
    Aug 1, 2012 at 15:42
  • dnsbl.info was all I had, sounds like you've used it. Check for other IPs on that range... might return some bad results :(
    – D Whyte
    Aug 1, 2012 at 15:45

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.