I manage a few shared hosting accounts for some customers in different hosting providers. One of the IPs of those accounts was blacklisted and my customer hasn't been able to send emails to Google accounts for a few days.

A removal request was already submitted but I would like to allow the user to temporarily send emails using another SMTP server (probably in one of my reseller accounts) but still get the emails in this account (IMAP).

Is this possible? Can I have two MX entries and receive the emails in both of them?

  • 1
    Using another SMTP server is a bad idea unless you have adequately identified the root cause for the reason it was blacklisted in the first place. The host may be compromised or the webmaster may be using illegitimate email lists. You risk blacklisting more IPs if you have not done anything about the reason this happened in the first place. – Matthew Ife Mar 31 '13 at 15:01
  • @MIfe It's a shared account, it wasn't my customer's fault. My hosting provider said they identified the compromised account but I am still waiting for the removal. – Bruno Silva Mar 31 '13 at 15:19

Since you don't control the IP you should not have submitted a removal request. This underscores why shared hosting should not allow outbound connections on port 25 at all. There's no reason for a webserver to be sending e-mail on port 25.

Your client should have a proper mail server for the domain. Lacking this, they should at least use a 3rd party service (this can be a free one like GMail if they don't mind using a GMail.com address; or paid hosting if they want it to come from their own domain, it's still pretty darn cheap). The webserver should be submitting this e-mail via port 587 (the e-mail submission port) to the e-mail server.

If you want the cheapest reliable e-mail, while keeping your domain name, Google for "outbound mail relay" and you should find plenty of options. Product recommendations are off-topic here.

  • I didn't submit the request myself, it was submitted by our provider. I just complained that the IP was flagged for abuse. – Bruno Silva Mar 31 '13 at 15:27
  • Ah, sounded like you submitted it, my apologies. In any case, it's a good excuse to migrate to a proper configuration. – Chris S Mar 31 '13 at 23:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.