0

In my chef recipe I'm creating a group with

group "mygroup" do
  action :create
end

I have other users that are added and removed from the server which are not managed by chef. When I run chef client, any users that have been added to my group are removed from the group. I would think that since I'm not using append (it defaults to false) and not supplying a member list that it wouldn't try to manage the users.

Is there any way to prevent my new users from being removed from this group? Or to not run the group resource at all if the group has already been created?

1

By default append is false and members is nil which means: make sure this group has no members. You want append to be true.

| improve this answer | |
  • Yep, that did it. If append is true and the member list is nil, the group is left as it was. – Justin B Nov 21 '13 at 6:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.