I am configuring an apache/SSO authentication with an AD with Kerberos. My http server is a Debian Wheezy and the AD is a Windows Server 2012.

I generated keytabs files on WS2012 with kpass command for each encryption type available on WS2012.

When I try to open a session with a user test@DOMAIN.COM with kinit, it works.

When I try to open a session with my HTTP/web.domain.com@DOMAIN.COM, I get the message:

kvno HTTP/web.domain.com@DOMAIN.COM
kvno: KDC has no support for encryption type while getting credentials for HTTP/web.domain.com@DOMAIN.COM

Also, when I check encryption used for test@DOMAIN.COM, I have:

root@SERVER:~# klist -e
Ticket cache: FILE:/tmp/krb5cc_0
Default principal: test@DOMAIN.COM

Valid starting       Expires              Service principal
03/04/2015 12:48:21  03/04/2015 22:48:17  krbtgt/DOMAIN.COM@DOMAIN.COM
        renew until 04/04/2015 12:48:21, Etype (skey, tkt): arcfour-hmac, arcfour-hmac

I tried to customize my /etc/krb5.conf with:

  default_tgs_enctypes = arcfour-hmac-md5 des-cbc-crc des-cbc-md5
  default_tkt_enctypes = arcfour-hmac-md5 des-cbc-crc des-cbc-md5

And by using the keytab file encrypted with arcfour-hmac without success.

I don't understand how to change encryption type used to communicate, why it always wants arcfour-hmac and why when I give it arcfour-hmac encryption, nothing change...

How to be sure that /etc/krb5.conf changes are effective and how to make the Kerberos ticket generation work too?

  • The KDC told you the error. What enc types does the service principal have?
    – jouell
    Nov 1, 2015 at 4:49

2 Answers 2


The encryption types supported by an Active Directory domain controller are listed in the msDS-SupportedEncryptionTypes attribute of the domain controller's computer object. In a default installation, they are typically something like:


This is a bitmask which works out to decimal 28, so it'd be something like 00011100.

So when you ask why the domain controller "always wants only ARC4-HMAC," it is because your client doesn't have any of the other two encryption types in common with the domain controller, so they are eliminated during the negotiation process.

(Note: RC4_HMAC_MD5 is really the worst and weakest of all the possible encryption types here, but it is also sometimes necessary to support legacy scenarios and interoperability with non-Microsoft products.)

I looked up some documentation and found an example of someone else's configuration file and thought this might be useful:


; for Windows 2008 with AES
   default_tgs_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96 rc4-hmac des-cbc-crc des-cbc-md5
   default_tkt_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96 rc4-hmac des-cbc-crc des-cbc-md5
   permitted_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96 rc4-hmac des-cbc-crc des-cbc-md5

Notice that, in addition to supporting better encryption types, they are also specifying rc4-hmac in their configuration, which is different from what you have, arcfour-hmac-md5. (Also don't forget the permitted_enctypes line, which I did not see in your post.)

I'm not 100% sure that will solve your issue, as I'm not in a position to test it right now, but hopefully it'll help.


This is most generic problem while configuring kerberos, Please resolve this by doing the following,

1) vi /var/kerberos/krb5kdc/kdc.conf

2) check for supported_enctypes , use any encryption techniques mentioned in there.

Hope this resolves the problem.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.