I'm building a single sign-on service using ADFS. I can't find a complete list of claim types (Ex: http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/ws/2005/05/identity/claims/privatepersonalidentifier).

There are some partial lists on Microsoft's website and the Oasis wiki pages. Does anyone know where I can find a comprehensive list?

  • ClaimTypes Members, which was located by internet search for "ADFS claim types"
    – Colt
    May 13 '16 at 13:46
  • Thanks for your help. As I previously mentioned, I found the same list on Microsoft's website and another on Oasis's website. I didn't know if a more comprehensive one exists or if that's it. May 15 '16 at 13:44
  • define comprehensive- you can add any claimtype you want with ADFS, more important is what claimtypes you want vs your ADFS will allow
    – Jim B
    May 18 '16 at 20:22

The Information Card Foundation (ICF) was maintaining such a list at: http://wiki.informationcard.net/index.php?title=Claim_Catalog#Well_Known_Claims

Since informationcard slowly disappeared the site isn't available anymore, too. Luckily you can still access it, thanks to archive.org: https://web.archive.org/web/20140823181452/http://wiki.informationcard.net:80/index.php?title=Claim_Catalog#Well_Known_Claims

You may also refer to the OASIS Identity Metasystem Interoperability Version 1.0: http://docs.oasis-open.org/imi/identity/v1.0/os/identity-1.0-spec-os.html#_Toc229451870 (Although that's probably the OASIS source you already discovered)


Note that your ADFS instance exposes a URL with the well-known configuration. While perhaps not an exhaustive list it would be the default set of ADFS claim types and a great place to start.


You can also have a look at my site, where I have collected those often used.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.