This question already has an answer here:

I have a domain, www.duckfox.com, that was using Google Apps mail servers, and now is using Zoho. All outbound emails that I send out will always go to spam, unless that person has already marked that message as not spam. They don't even reach yahoo.com email accounts because it'll bounce with the error code 554: Message not allowed (Email not accepted for policy reasons). One of the reasons is supposedly "Malformed Headers", but I don't know how they could be malformed.

I have checked a number of sites that will inform you if your domain is blacklisted, and they all report that we are clean. Also, with Google Apps, I did have DKIM and SPF records and signatures in place (I do not yet have these in place with Zoho because I just set up the account). I'm at a loss for what I may need to change or do so that our outbound messages aren't flagged as spam any longer. It's getting to urgent status for us as we can't communicate with anyone.

Here is an example of a rejected email from when I was still going through Google Apps (which I'd love to still use if this can get fixed):

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:


    Technical details of permanent failure:
    Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the server for the recipient domain yahoo.com bymta7.am0.yahoodns.net. [].

    The error that the other server returned was:
    554 Message not allowed - [PH01] Email not accepted for policy reasons.  Please visit https://help.yahoo.com/kb/postmaster/SLN5067.html [120]

    ----- Original message -----

    DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
            d=duckfox.com; s=google;
    X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
            d=1e100.net; s=20130820;
    X-Gm-Message-State: ALyK8tJfX4k/Qe67VFmmArLnb/VDQLC1+CY2F8eXZFUS2xJkbgrn08bMJsGRtiH3wbs2ePijYOtIY12p0UcLqw==
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    X-Received: by with SMTP id 74mr7202427wmw.36.1466113866305; Thu,
     16 Jun 2016 14:51:06 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: by with HTTP; Thu, 16 Jun 2016 14:51:06 -0700 (PDT)
    X-Originating-IP: []
    Date: Thu, 16 Jun 2016 14:51:06 -0700
    Message-ID: <CAEakwwSPK_9KUm2Xcuj-TsNgJQ+swi6-eav-CrDFZFjzB+stnw@mail.gmail.com>
    Subject: test
    From: Steven Harlow <steve@duckfox.com>
    To: stharlow992000@yahoo.com
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=001a11467c5033c2ec05356c3cc9


DNS Records (CNAME, MX, TXT, NS in that order):

ftp @   1 Hour  
s1._domainkey   s1.domainkey.u3132155.wl156.sendgrid.net    1 Hour  
s2._domainkey   s2.domainkey.u3132155.wl156.sendgrid.net    1 Hour  
support u3132155.wl156.sendgrid.net 1 Hour  
www hokkaido-96747.herokussl.com    1 Hour

5   @   ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 1 Hour  
5   @   ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 1 Hour  
10  @   ALT3.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 1 Hour  
10  @   ALT4.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM 1 Hour  
1   @   ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM  1 Hour

@   google-site-verification=aCtaJMgHSSLEb2NGlMoAutcluizi49yCkX6BORdnLpo    1 Hour  
    @   v=spf1 include:_spf.google.com include:sendgrid.net ~all    1 Hour  
    google._domainkey   v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=MIGfMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUAA4GNADCBiQKBgQCdhOeuNciUlITqCv2pK3H8yuibzd3StcMjXXD3zSd1IcaeBX1awEF6KbQ0k+NzPkSGMGwHCoGvnJ9bu9LQ74BbbMOfL/fay/KGcqi8wW8EqEy9GbT1XP97PhMLIaWloc85BfUjJy9Sb00Mdi21d6JMYd4+9xgqZF+HnBPdPBWxJwIDAQAB  1 Hour

@ (Informational)   ns19.domaincontrol.com (Informational)  1 Hour (Informational)  
@ (Informational)   ns20.domaincontrol.com (Informational)  1 Hour (Informational)

marked as duplicate by EEAA Jun 18 '16 at 1:27

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • @EEAA I don't really think that the referenced question and it's answers is a duplicate. 1) I am going through Google Apps, so a lot of the suggestions are taken care of through their service (clean server, "Steven Harlow" in from section, etc), 2) I don't create spammy messages. These are messages like "Test" or just normal messages to my personal emails. We have never bulk emailed anyone and our volume of emails has been below 100 total. 3) I've checked, and the domain is not blacklisted. – Steven Harlow Jun 18 '16 at 1:43

You have mentioned that you created a DKIM and SPF record on Google Apps. After you moved to Zoho, you need to do the same thing.

Here is a link to Zoho that will show you how and what SPF and DKIM records to add to your DNS.

From my understanding, without an SPF and DKIM record, your emails are not verified. This means Yahoo! cannot verify that you are sending the email.

EDIT: Could you please post your all of your DNS records?

  • This bounce was happening from Google Apps. I've already created SPF and DKIM records for Zoho, and I'm just waiting for them to propagate, but I'm actually rather concerned that the issue is going to persist. This not only happened from Google Apps, but also when email was sent through SendGrid, which was white-labeled. – Steven Harlow Jun 18 '16 at 1:18
  • Could you post all of your DNS records? I just did a lookup on your domain and I do see missing values. – Jeffrey Wen Jun 18 '16 at 1:25
  • Beside those that are showing currently when performing dig -t ANY duckfox.com, I have the DKIM record which hasn't propagated yet: v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=MIGfMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUAA4GNADCBiQKBgQCdhOeuNciUlITqCv2pK3H8yuibzd3StcMjXXD3zSd1IcaeBX1awEF6KbQ0k+NzPkSGMGwHCoGvnJ9bu9LQ74BbbMOfL/fay/KGcqi8wW8EqEy9GbT1XP97PhMLIaWloc85BfUjJy9Sb00Mdi21d6JMYd4+9xgqZF+HnBPdPBWxJwIDAQAB – Steven Harlow Jun 18 '16 at 1:30
  • Though, the thing I'm worried about is that even when we were looking at my DNS records after they'd all propagated earlier in the week, they all looked good and were showing, but the mail was still being sent to spam. – Steven Harlow Jun 18 '16 at 1:32
  • Please append include:zoho.com into your SPF record, wait a good amount of time for propagation, and then send an email. After you send the email, please check on the headers to see if the SPF verification says pass or failed – Jeffrey Wen Jun 18 '16 at 2:36

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.